Featured Post

Professional ideas on managing office and financial strain – A Breaking the Stigma unique I Asked ChatGPT for Retirement Advice, and Its Response Wasn’t Bad

FRANKFORT, Ky. — The Council on Postsecondary Education today named the fourth cadre of its Academic Leadership Development Institute (ALDI) program, which aims to prepare minority faculty and staff members for leadership roles in Kentucky higher education.

The 24 participants were chosen from Kentucky’s public universities and the Kentucky Community and Technical College System.

“We have a strong group of leaders from a variety of backgrounds participating in the program, and I’m excited about the unique perspectives and experiences they will bring to the table,” said Dawn Offutt, executive director for diversity, equity and inclusion at CPE. “We are intentional about inclusion in our leadership development efforts because true equity isn’t possible unless it is reflected at all levels of our higher education institutions.”

ALDI, a year-long training and leadership development program, is focused on building the skills of early career, underrepresented minority faculty and staff who are on track for professional academic leadership advancement through a series of interactive sessions and small group seminars. CPE established ALDI in 2017, and then reinstated the program in 2019 after receiving a $50,000 grant from the Lumina Foundation, which targeted efforts to close outcome gaps in postsecondary education.

Participants are nominated based on their leadership ability, interest in advancement and dedication to higher education.

2022 Academic Leadership Development Institute participants:

TaKeia N. Anthony – Kentucky State University
Lester “Les” Archer – Western Kentucky University
Marlisa Austin – Jefferson Community and Technical College
Prathiba Natesan Batley – University of Louisville
Daniel Boahmah – Western Kentucky University
Dedrick Brooks – Murray State University
Eric Brown – Morehead State University
Erica Clayton – Gateway Community and Technical College
Anastasia Curwood – University of Kentucky
Alejandra “Ali” Frailey – Madisonville Community College
Brandon Halcomb – Jefferson Community and Technical College
Denise Hardesty – Western Kentucky University
Kevin Harrison – Ashland Community and Technical College
Vanessa Hunn – Northern Kentucky University
Joda Johnson – Southcentral Community and Technical College
Quentin Moore – Eastern Kentucky University
Ebony Muldrow – University of Louisville
Keturah Nix – Kentucky State University
Antoine Smith-Rouse – Owensboro Community and Technical College
Danelle Stevens-Watkins – University of Kentucky
Lorraine Sturgeon – Kentucky Community and Technical College System, System Office
Crystal Summers – Northern Kentucky University
Kauai Thurman – Bluegrass Community and Technical College
Jose Saavedra Torres – Northern Kentucky University

Click here for more Kentucky business news.